• Application Process

    Thank you for your interest in applying to WSMS-TEP

STEP ONE – Attend an Information Session

As the first step of our admissions process, we invite you to join us for an overview of our programs. Faculty members will be available to answer your questions about the Infant Toddler, Early Childhood, Elementary and Administrator programs. You will also have the opportunity to hear about the Concordia College Dual Master’s programs in Early Childhood/Special Education and Childhood/Special Education. Sessions last approximately one hour and are held at West Side Montessori School. Reservations are required. We look forward to meeting you!

  • Thursday, January 18, 2018, at 3:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 3, 2018, at 10:00 a.m.
  • Wednesday, April 4, 2018, at 3:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, May 8, 2018, at 3:30 p.m.
STEP TWO – Submit an Application

The second step of our admissions process is to submit an application.

Please have the following ready before submitting your online application:

• Credit card for $75 non-refundable application fee

• Written responses of maximum 200 words per response. We strongly recommend that you draft your responses in a separate document and copy/paste into the online application.

  1. What is your personal philosophy of education?
  2. Why are you interested in applying for the Montessori teacher education program?
  3. If you are accepted to the program, how to you plan to balance these additional studies along with your other life commitments (e.g. work, college, family)?
  4. For Administrator Program applicants only: What was your path to becoming a Montessori Administrator?
STEP THREE – Mail Additional Application Materials

Please mail the following required materials to:
Lisanne Pinciotti, WSMS-TEP
309 West 92 Street
New York, NY 10025

  • Original college transcript from your most recent degree or copy of high school diploma
  • Students with an international degree are required to submit transcripts directly from institution to World Education Service for an equivalency evaluation. We recommend the WES ICAP Document by Document Report.
  • Three letters of reference (two professional, one personal). A sample form is available here.

QUESTIONS

General Information/Admissions: Gelsey Steinbrecher gsteinbrecher@wsmsnyc.org

Administrator Program: Bev Smith bsmith@wsmsnyc.org

Elementary Program: Sheba Kapur skapur@wsmsnyc.org

Early Childhood Program: Lisanne Steinbrecher lsteinbrecher@wsmsnyc.org

Infant Toddler Program: Mimi Basso mbasso@wsmsnyc.org

Masters Program: Katherine Fordney kfordney@wsmsnyc.org

Application Deadlines for 2018-2019 Enrollment

  • AMS Scholarships:
    May 1, 2018
  • WSMS-TEP Scholarships:
    May 1, 2018
  • Early Childhood Track 1 (Summer Entry):
    June 1, 2018
  • Elementary:
    June 1, 2018
  • Administrator:
    June 1, 2018
  • Early Childhood Track 2 (Fall Entry):
    August 15, 2018 
  • Infant Toddler:
    August 15, 2018

WSMS-TEP actively seeks diversity in its student body, faculty, staff, and administration. WSMS-TEP does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, or national or ethnic origin in its admissions procedures, educational policies, financial aid programs, employment practices, and all other administered procedures and programs.

309 West 92nd Street New York, NY 10025 l 212-662-8000 l All Rights Reserved © WSMSnyc.org 2017 | Designed NavinDesigns.com